top of page

Who we are

Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Incorporated was founded January 16, 1920, on the campus of Howard University in Washington, D.C. by five women. These women dared to depart from the traditional coalitions for Black women and sought to establish a new organization predicated on the precepts of Scholarship, Service, Sisterhood and Finer Womanhood. The trail blazed by the founders has been traversed by thousands of women dedicated to the emulation of the objectives and ideals of the Sorority.

The Sorority was the first Greek-letter organization to charter a chapter in Africa (1948); to form adult and youth auxiliary groups: the Amicae, Archonettes, Amicettes, and Pearlettes; and to be constitutionally bound to a brother organization, Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Incorporated.

Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Incorporated's national and local programs include: endowment of its National Educational Foundation, community outreach services, and support of multiple affiliate organizations. Zeta chapters and auxiliary groups have given immeasurable hours of voluntary service to educate the public, assist youth, provide scholarships, support organized charities, and promote legislation for social and civic change. Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Incorporated is a non-profit organization that is incorporated in both Washington, D.C. and Illinois. As a result of being a non-profit, the Sorority is supported by the dues and gifts of its loyal and dedicated members.


Scholarship     Service      Sisterly Love     Finer Womanhood

X-Quisite Xi Sigma


bottom of page